Looked at @pinterest TY @EAdvocate http pinterest com…

Status

Looked at @pinterest (TY @EAdvocate) http://pinterest.com/about/ very attractive idea for creating collections. You have to request an invite, which always makes me think the devs are insecure about how robust their app is. They showcase some very pretty stuff, so I wonder how they’d feel about hosting our gory 18+ protest images. Very tempting all the same.
It might be possible to make a WordPress template that looks like pinterest?

Kendra Kellogg@eadvocate Kendra Kellogg
Good idea for a WP template. So far I like @pinterest‘s “Pin It” similar to @storify‘s “Storify This”, which require plug-in devs.

8 thoughts on “Looked at @pinterest TY @EAdvocate http pinterest com…

  1. @eadvocate I was thinking of the WPThis bookmark widget but it would create separate posts, so yes, a similar widget to edit a post with updates would be needed to replicate the storify or pinterest functionality. By the way, I am trying to have this conversation with you from WordPress, because I moved here from Twitter. This post explains why: http://snup.us/mYn

  2. Thank you for alerting me of your move from Twitter Anita. We are having highly similar issues. I need to be far less dependent on Twitter, yet none of the current options are nonlinear enough for archives or complex multimedia. I love, love your idea to develop a template. That may be the smartest solution I have heard yet. We definitely need for tools for activists. Thanks for your thoughts.

    • @eadvocate I am not surprised to hear you’ve been feeling the same pressure, Kendra, as we do very similar work and these are tools, not toys, for us. The move was a bit of wishful thinking at first, then as more things stopped working or became more of a burden than the simple/easy tasks I need them to be, I started to look around for a new solution. This P2 template with the more recent WP features is the best free option I have found so far, and I am still tweaking and testing different ideas.

      It’s critically important for me to find and share information about free services, and they absolutely have to work with a low-specification computer on a low bandwidth connection. No script-intensive, iPhone- or MAC-only stuff for me or the people in my network! I hate to say it, but there are definite signs of a class divide on the internet these days, thanks to developers competing to entertain and engage an elite group using 500 dollar handheld devices.

      My absolute ideal right now would be a dashboard where I can upload video, images, documents, and post status updates or articles as well as clip content from the web to one or more social networking sites really easily, with tags and categories. I would not be bothered if I had to post from one platform – say a desktop app, and consume content on another – the web for example, as long as I can cross-post. If I wanted icing on that I’d also like to share my comments, likes, etc along with anyone else’s content disqus-style, but simultaneously across multiple platforms of my choosing and with the ability to select from different custom groups to share with. Perhaps similar to G+ circles, or to what FaceBook had before they changed page updates, notifications and pretty much everything else. I think one major difference is I would like people to be aware and to have control over what groups they are in.

      It’s a tempest-driven sea, but what an exciting voyage!

  3. @lissnup Bingo. I have been organizing more offline and from mobile this year and you hit the nail on the head. The class divide is huge. It is critical for activists to understand after a year like 2011, when the global uprisings had an economic component. The most inexpensive devices form the majority of citizen journalism of protests and cyber-activism in general (The iPhone is a luxury globally). Maximum reach on minimum bandwidth or battery matters. That is why Twitter has been key. But the current platforms do not give users control or options for weaving a complex multimedia story over time, despite historical events unfolding around them. The end result is either bulk ephemera (streams, live-blogs, email) or bulk stagnation (blogs, lightboxes, flickr sets).

    Activists and citizens witness the injustices. They document, collect, share and archive. These visual stories and processes are not linear; they are time-based. There is a difference. It is a matter of empowering the storyteller and giving them more control. But more importantly, it is about activists like you and me *not* waiting for an iPhone app to solve our problems in 2012😉

  4. Thank you Anita! Agreed – Webdoc is a must see. It has wonderful conversation tools. I love how it embeds into Tumblr. Tumblr gives users plenty of room to code, so a low-bandwidth and non-linear template is possible.

    This is serious serendipity – It is the (mostly) European webdoc and idoc work that inspired me to push back against ephemeral streams. More on idocs & webdocs here: http://www.doclab.org/ and here http://i-docs.org/about/

    Thank you for the resources and conversation!

Leave a Reply

